Awards for Excellence

SMS has introduced an Award Scheme for each show.

This is to recognise and encourage those who go the extra mile either as performers or behind the scenes.

The names of the winners will be published in all show programs.

The Awards were first presented following the last performance of “Bye Bye Birdie” on the 11th of September, 2004

The Ladogna Award is for outstanding contribution to the production. This award goes to the person who contributed that extra effort towards the production.

The recipient could be someone in the cast, back-stage crew, on the production team or just a helpful member of the Society. They are a person who continually promoted both the show and Society in a positive way.

The Ladogna Award is a “cast award”. That is, it is voted on by the cast.


Winners of the Ladogna Award


2004Bye Bye BirdieKaren Jackaman
2005A Grand Night For SingingPhilip Clark, Catherine Grovenor, Brian Hughes, Michael Johnson, Kathryn Meekings, Christine Pech, Rebecca Sutton
2005Into the WoodsCraig Stewart
2006Sweeney ToddRebecca Demary
2007Jesus Christ SuperstarKaren Jackaman
2008Anything GoesFleur Brentnall
2008Jekyll & HydeCarol Griffith
2009How to Succeed in Business without Really TryingBrad Clarke
2009Musicali-TeaPhilip Clark, Brian Hughes
2010Pajama GamePhillip Jeffery
2010Songs from Stage to ScreenKathy Clark
2011Tarantara! Tarantara!Gary Selby
2011Top-For-TeaBrian Hughes
2012Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor DreamcoatHaydn Allbutt
2012Top-For-Tea-2Gints Karklins
2013The Wizard of OzMajella Bendeich
2013The Music ManGary Selby
2014The Phantom of the OperaRobert McCloskey
2015RetrospectacularJean Ashby
2015Beauty and the BeastBrian Sadler
2016Encore!Katherine Pech
2016The Addams FamilyJames Musumeci

The “Broadley Encouragement Award” is awarded to a cast member who displays considerable improvement during the show or who has shown great potential.

The criteria are quite open but at the end of the day, the recipient of the Broadley Award is someone whose performance stood out to the production team, not necessarily for being the best in the show, but the most encouraging.

The production team is responsible for the selection of the Broadley Award recipient. That is, the director, assistant directors, musical director, choreographer, production manager etc.

Winners of the Broadley Award


2004Bye Bye BirdieDianna Richardson
2005A Grand Night For SingingRebecca Sutton
2005Into the WoodsJames MacKay
2006Sweeney ToddPascal Herington
2007Jesus Christ SuperstarTim Kirby
2008Anything GoesMikey Hart
2008Jekyll & HydeHaydn Allbutt
2009How to Succeed in Business Without Really TryingChantal Sneddon
2009Musicali-TeaLaura Clark
2010The Pajama GameLuisa Lyons
2010Songs from Stage to ScreenPeter Reid
2011Tarantara! Tarantara!Terry Evans
2011Top-For-TeaAngela Mosley
2012Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor DreamcoatMelissa Stewart
2012Top-For-Tea-2Liz Sweetland & Tessa Pase
2013The Wizard of OzDebbie Neilson
2013The Music ManNatalie Elliot
2014The Phantom of the OperaLeigh Watkins
2015RetrospectacularDavid Mosley, Anne Bell
2015Beauty and the BeastKate Norgren, Tenikka Pesic
2016Encore!Brian Sadler
2016The Addams FamilyStephanie Eid


The Phillip Jeffrey Award is dedicated to the memory of our dear friend Philip Jeffrey a bright young talent who sadly passed away in 2010 during The Songs from Stage to Screen season.

In his honour we created this award, which is awarded to a cast member who displays considerable improvement during the show or who has shown great potential. The production team chooses The Phillip Jeffrey Award recipient.


Winners of the Phillip Jeffrey Award


2011Tarantata! Tarantara!Robert McCloskey
2012Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor DreamcoatPeter Reid
2013The Wizard of OzTanya Davidson
2013The Music ManMelissa Stewart
2014The Phantom of the OperaAlan Tate

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This